“A protocol agreement is more than a document,” Six First Nations Grand Chief Billy Morin told the Confederation. “This is a promise between governments on communication and cooperation, with a focus on shared prosperity, now and for years to come.” Rick Wilson, Alberta`s Minister of Aboriginal Relations, also praised the agreement. Here is the protocol agreement signed today by the City Council @CityofRedDeer and #RedDeer Urban Aboriginal Voices Society. #NADCanada pic.twitter.com/sPuHkOAcje In Fort Carlton, Saskatchewan nearly 144 years ago, on August 23, Plains Indigenous Ont signed Contract Six, a land agreement with the federal crown. A partecipation to the contract was signed in Alberta at a place now known as Edmonton. “The Agreement of the Protocol provides Alberta and Confederation with the Six First Nations Treaty with an opportunity to conduct meaningful discussions, exchange information and study issues of mutual interest,” says a press release from the province. The agreement also commits to an annual meeting between the leaders of the Six First Nations Confederation and Premier Jason Kenney. It has been almost three years since The City of Red Deer signed a Memorandum of Understanding with the Urban Aboriginal Voices Society (UAVS) to ensure that local indigenous voices are heard at City Hall. Six First Nations communities in Central Alberta are included in a historic agreement recently signed with the Government of Alberta. Six Central Alberta First Nations, including Louis Bull Tribe and Samson, Ermineskin and Montana First Nations in Maskwacis, and the O`Chiese and Sunchild First Nations, northwest of Rocky Mountain House, are among the Six Nations contained in a new agreement with the Government of Alberta.

Photo of Maskwaci`s Facebook page “It is a great moral imperative – to ensure that Alberta`s opportunities and prosperity are shared with First Nations – the first peoples, first entrepreneurs and first administrators of this rich country on which we find ourselves. And the protocol agreement we are signing today is the key. I could not be more proud to sign the first agreement between the Government of Alberta and the Confederation of Six First Nations since 2008. Red Deer College recognizes that our campus is located on Treaty 7 DemLand, the traditional territory of the Blackfoot, Tsuu T`ina and Stoney Nakoda peoples, and that the central Alberta region we serve is covered by Treaty 6, the traditional territory of Métis, Cree and Saulteaux. We pay tribute to the first peoples who have always lived here and we thank for the country where the DRC is located. Here, we will strive to honour and transform our relationships with each other. Shorter field recognition (for small events, meetings and in-house focused courses; can be used at the end of Red Deer College`s electronic signing): Alberta Premier Jason Kenney celebrated the 6th day of contract recognition on Sunday. File Photo by PAUL COWLEY/Advocate staff Funded by FCSS and AIR active domains and the elders counsel working on projects The following text, developed by the INDIGENOUS Student Services team in DRC, offers options for land recognition that are suitable for use on DRC campuses. “The recovery we are pursuing after unprecedented economic and social challenges for this province will not be complete without Aboriginal participation,” said Prime Minister Jason Kenney. The corresponding text for land recognition varies by region, so that Red Deer College representatives, who speak on sites far from our university campuses, are encouraged to become familiar with the appropriate recognition of a given territory and to share this authentically. Before being recognizable, every human being is encouraged to think about what it means to him personally.